Did the first regime which took about 5.5hours yesterday at the hospital. Still keeping my fingers crossed, but I'm feeling pretty ok so far. The long hour is because the drip was being run slow to monitor closely in case I develop any allergies or discomfort while receiving treatment. I was told that for the 2nd week, it'll probably be 1 hour faster, and 3rd week onwards, will be kept at normal pace, where it usually ends in 3 hours.
…
How this treatment was given?
First, the nurse gave me 2 panadols to prevent the flu-like symptoms and body ache before we started. Followed by anti-allergies drips which caused me really drowsy on the spot (like a very very strong flu medicines). I fell to sleep immediately, or perhaps forcing myself to shut my eyes to avoid seeing the world in front me swayed.
Then I heard nurses waking me up to check on my IC number and notifying me that they were starting on the PAC drip and asked me to raise any discomfort, if any. Still feeling drowsy, there was nothing I could do but continue to snug myself asleep inside the blanket. Note to self: there's no need to bring any book or the iPad the next time, cos I'd probably be sleeping again :)
When the drowsiness slowly getting off, I asked for assistance for toilet trips. I like how this treatment didn't show up or smell anything different during the toilet business. (mind me, but AC left me feeling disgusted everytime I did my toilet business!)
Nurses took turns to check on my blood pressure and temperature during the treatment. The last 1.5 hours, the drip was switched to the mighty Herceptin. Why mighty? It must have some reasons that this drugs itself cause so much. The total cost for the treatment yesterday was about 4x of my single AC treatment. I'm thankful for the continuous insurance coverage!
…
Speaking of insurance coverage, I checked with my oncologist, Dr O too on how would we know that the C cells are gone in my body. He was a honest 'almost–like–your–lunch–buddy–friend', who actually replied that all these treatments that I'm receiving, is similar to buying insurance to assure myself. Aka there is no guarantee.
Only check that I need to run is yearly mammogram. When asked why no CT scan, he said with CT scan comes strong radioactive, and radioactive triggers the big C! Doctors would never advise the scans when there is nothing suspicious showing up anywhere, claims Dr O. And the CT scan itself is not able to see or capture anything with no standing 'suspect' to support.
…
And the ignorant me just learnt that my C is a strongly hormonal triggered C, which explained why I need Herceptin (read about Herceptin here: http://www.macmillan.org.uk/Cancerinformation/Cancertreatment/Treatmenttypes/Biologicaltherapies/Monoclonalantibodies/Trastuzumab.aspx). And he helped explained something which the arrogant Dr Y never did. The period needs to be stopped, I had to go through the early menopause to ensure the hormones are gone. When the hormones or the periods are stopped, there's a bigger winning or assurance for me to stay C-free! So I understand now. So I'm not feeling so discouraged by it anymore! To think the silly me still feel so elated when I'm still able to have my period during AC, and even now while I'm composing this post :X
The importance of good doctor really!
Hearing about how Herceptin gonna stop the hormones soon, saddens me that I actually wished I had given birth to more than 2 kids! Kids who could actually bring joy to the family and growing up together with us.
A lot of should have, could have, ... The more I should treasure and live life to the fullest...
Til later :)